following requirements for marriage in Reno were obtained directly
from the Office of the Washoe County Clerk, who may be contacted
at the Washoe County Administrative Complex, 1001 E. Ninth St.,
Building A, Reno, NV 89512. Phone 775-784-7287 if you need more
information. When you're ready for the ceremony, check out this
list of Reno Wedding Chapels.
A male and
female person, at least 18 years of age, not nearer of kin than
second cousin or cousins of the half blood, and not having a husband
or wife living, may be joined in marriage. Proof of age is required.
Both parties must appear in person at the Marriage License Bureau,
Washoe County Administrative Complex, 1001 E. Ninth St, Building
A, Reno, NV 89512.
TESTS / WAITING PERIODS:
are not required, and there is no waiting period.
Sunday 8:00 AM to 12:00 Midnight.
Fee: $60.00 (cash, credit
cards, money orders or travelers checks)
at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age may marry
only if he/she has the consent of either parent or such person's
signing as guardians must furnish a certified court order showing
proof of legal guardianship to the satisfaction of the Clerk.
the parent(s) cannot be present, a statement, which must be written
in English, stating the birth date and age of the minor child
and stating the relationship of the person giving consent, acknowledged
before a notary public will be accepted. The notary must state
that the parent(s) personally appeared before
ORDER FOR PERSONS UNDER AGE 16
provisions of NRS 122.015, a person less than 16 years of age may
marry if either parent or legal guardian files an action, pays all
court fees as provided by law and presents a court order from the
Second Judicial District Court, County of Washoe, State of Nevada,
authorizing the Clerk to issue a license.
to obtain a Marriage License and have a legal marriage, divorces
must be final in the state where granted. The date of the final
decree and the city and state where granted are required.
To be legally
married, a marriage ceremony must be performed by any person authorized
to perform marriages in the State of Nevada. The options are: wedding
chapels, churches or the Commissioner of civil Marriages. One witness
to the marriage ceremony is required by law.
cost for a copy of a marriage application
is 50¢ and $15.00 for
a certified copy, and may be obtained
from the Washoe County Clerk, PO
Box 30083, Reno, Nevada 89520-3083.
For a fee of $10.00, a certified
copy of your marriage record (proof
of marriage) may be obtained from
the Washoe county recorder, PO Box
11130, Reno, Nevada 89520-0027. Please
include the date of marriage and
names of bride and groom with your